Roommates

 

picHad such a cool revelation over the high holy days, one that was unexpected. I came to the realization that I wanted to live with roommates when I make aliyah. This surprised me as I had roommates once in college and did not like it. I have been wanting my own apartment and to live alone for years now, but the bay area is freakin expensive. I know that I probably could find a way to find my own apartment and live on my own, but there is something about wanting to connect with people and save money which has lead me to wanting roommates. My preference would be to join an all ready existing apartment, with at least two other people, that way I don’t have to worry. 

The cool thing about having roommates is that I don’t have to worry about moving furniture. I just want to find a place that has an unfurnished bedroom. I am looking forward to furniture shopping and adjusting with my Autumn. 

So now I must buy a couple large duffle bags to hold my stuff because I’m not taking a lift. I’m happy about that since most of my stuff is old and a hot mess any way. So here is my new list:

  • sheets
  • blankets, especially my throws
  • my comforter
  • all my therapy toys and art
  • most of my DVD’s
  • my gaming computer and sims 3
  • curtains
  • Autumn’s supplies
  • clothes
  • shoes
  • my mugs
  • my copper pans and pots
  • my map of the world and my map of Israel
  • knitting supplies
  • all my bath and body works products

So my hope for my new apartment in Jerusalem is that I can get a master bedroom, with a bathroom and a balcony (Yup I’m such an american). I really can’t fathom having to share a bathroom and having a balcony for me and Autumn to use sounds awesome. 

Now Autumn and I have never had a roommate before so I’m nervous about how that all works. I love my Autumn but she’s naughty. She likes to steal food, She will run away if given a chance (well really she’s just curious and likes to explore), she climbs on furniture and plays in the dirt, she can be noisy sometimes, barking if your eating and not sharing or crying when you leave her, sometimes she has tummy issues which means getting up in the middle of the night so she can relieve herself. These are all concerns I have about rooming with my Autumn. 

Other concerns are with regards to sharing stuff like food. How do people coordinate shopping? Or what about cleaning up-I know I’m clean but what if my roommates are dirty or not similar to me in their cleanliness? I envision cockroaches and ants, which make me want to vomit. What about parties or generally people wanting to talk to me when I’m trying to relax. 

But then there are the good things. Rent is cheaper. There are people to talk to.  If there is another dog there then autumn can make a new friend. Shared bills. New friends and the potential for romantic partnerships.  Shabbat dinners. Evenings out. Meeting new people. Practicing Hebrew and learning about different cultures. Did I mention saving money because everything is shared? 

So thats my realization that made me feel happy and like I have something to look forward to. More important it’s something to add to the blogging life of my aliyah.

Leave a Reply

