Day 3

11:17 am: Last night I fell asleep at 7:30 and woke up at 11:30. The apartment was quiet so I got some tea, ate left over French fries and called my mother. It was a nice talk and I’m glad I was able to do it. I went to sleep around 2:30/3 and I woke up to some type of noise around 5:45. I went for a walk and got lost in the city so instead of walking five miles I waked 5.40 miles. 

Upon my arrival back to the apartment I checked fb-there were 5 messages. One was for the job in the Tel Aviv area teaching English after school. She seems nice and the pay is decent for part time work. We got to know each other briefly over the phone before  We scheduled a time to meet tomorrow, since I’ll be back in Tel Aviv on way to Herzliya. I messaged a few people about roommating and then showered. 

After I  showered it was time to get to the bus and back to Jerusalem. It’s funny the second time around I felt so comfortable as if I’ve done this before. (Oh wait I have yesterday). As I waited for the bus a woman began speaking to me in Hebrew. I had no idea what she was saying and I couldn’t even reply in Hebrew 😱. I was disappointed in myself for being caught off guard and not being able to respond in Hebrew even though I knew how. 

The bus arrived right as I got a call from my accommodations in Jerusalem Wednesday-Sunday. We coordinated when I would arrive and as I paid the bus driver the money he drops my change towards my hand but he misses and it lands on the ground. I just laugh because it’s such an Israeli thing. (A couple days back I got my receipt and debit card thrown back at me not gently tossed on the counter or placed in my hand). 

Evening: I met a new friend at her apartment in Nachlaot. When I first visited Nachlaot the day before I didn’t really like it. But this tour around I actually enjoyed the little city. There are lots of different kinds of people who are in this part of Jerusalem. Secular and Charedi. I had a chance to meet my new friends friends at the dog park who were also very nice. I also had a chance to spend some time at a beer place in the shuk. I had a taste of different kinds of beer which was fun. I really enjoyed this spiced cider that I had. I really enjoy cider. The new friend also helped me look at apartments on yad2 and even spoke to a couple people for me. Unfortunately they didn’t work out so we never got to see an apartment. 

IMG_6292.jpg

I also reached out in my whatsapp group for girls looking for an apartment. I had a girl reply saying that she and her friend might be interested. It’s so hard because I want to live alone but I don’t want to spend more than 2,000 shekels a month. Seeing my new friends little place was an inspiration though. She pays 3400 shekels a month and it’s all hers. That’s really not bad and I feel like Autumn would be happy to have a place with just her and I. On the other hand she is used to having Coco (my mom’s dog), my mom, and my younger brother and sister. It’s so hard to decided especially without a job. 

I keep thinking about the part time job prospect but I don’t know if it’s a good fit. I want to live in Jerusalem and the thought of coming every day to Tel Aviv for a job seems crazy to me. Maybe I’ll give myself until Thursday to figure this all out. 

After spending all day in Jerusalem I returned to TA to meet up with another friend. We had a couple drinks, shared a small snack and just talked. It was pretty cool and it’s nice to hang out in the evening time and see everyone outside still. I didn’t get back until 10pm and there was still a million people (figuratively) outside. Tel Aviv really reminds me of Paris and I think that’s why I’m starting to like it. 

 

Leave a Reply

