A Tale of Two Homes

This week I’m back in California and it feels nice. At first it felt weird. Over the past 6 months Israel has felt like home, despite me not knowing the language and being confused about banking, I love the life I’m beginning to create in Israel. 

On the other hand being able to see friends, friends that I’ve had for decades, is so nice. It’s so safe and familiar to be with these friends and the same with my family, particularly my cousins. I just love the ease at which we communicate with each other and how most of these folks I still talk to fairly regularly so I don’t miss them so much. I think this has helped my adjustment to Israel, knowing that I have unconditional support from my cousins and my friends here. 

Being in the same time zone as my potential online clients is nice as well. Just in the couple days I’ve been here I’ve connected with other therapists and we talk about building our practices, how we found our passions/specializations, and talked about our hopes and dreams for our businesses. This has made me realize that I need to invest in myself and my business. I have to get rid of the scarcity mindset that plagues me and hijacks my thinking. 

But this blog isn’t about work but about the differences between he two homes.

One of the biggest surprises of this week’s trip was how much my appetite changed just in these short 6 months. Before I made aliyah I could eat endlessly it seemed, loving the feeling I would get when I was full. As I visited people and ate out at restaurants I noticed how large the portion sizes were and that for the most part I couldn’t finish my meals. I also no longer enjoyed the feeling of being stuffed, finding it made me feel uncomfortable and sick. I enjoyed the foods I hadn’t eaten in 6 months, burritos and Thai food, but they also tasted different. In the past I could eat these foods every day but now I was fine just eating there once. This part was the most surprising. 

Another thing I noticed was how much I shifted in terms of the weather. The cloudy mornings I used to love, I was annoyed by, because it was summer and I wanted to wake up to the sun. Also it was truly cold in the morning, and some days stayed cold, which I also didn’t like too much. The last day I was home it rained off and on. I honestly dislike rain the most.

I went to my synagogue and received so much love. One woman walked up to me after services and said I remember you talking abut making aliyah but I didn’t realize you were doing it. This made me laugh. Otherwise I got lost of hugs and smiles. Also it made me realize how much of this I really miss because I haven’t found or looked for a conservative synagogue in Israel. It’s important to me that it’s conservative, not reform or Orthodox, so at this pint I’d rather not attend. But I also think a goal I have by the time summer ends is that I need to find one here in Tel Aviv and find a way to go at least twice a month if not every day shabbat. 

I found myself really missing my home in Israel this week which also surprised me. I enjoyed catching up and going to my synagogue but otherwise I missed my routine, my motivation to write, speaking Hebrew (poorly), my kids from work, my dog, and also the friends I made. That was most surprising. I didn’t realize that in this short amount of time I had made meaningful connections. 

Israel and California could not be more different from each other. I love them both for different reasons but I was surprised by the fact that I missed Israel as much as I did. I want to make aliyah because “it felt right” and my first trip back to the bay area confirmed that Israel really is my home.

Leave a Reply

